Summer Reading

Summer is here, friends.

In other words, the good TV shows have all concluded their seasons (sigh.  Grey’s), or have been cancelled (yeah, I’m lookin’ at you, Mistresses), or have been bingewatched in their entirety (that would be OITNB).

It’s too hot to cook.  Or eat, for that matter.

The boys and I are spending the majority of our days outside, walking, playing in the sand, drawing on the driveway, blowing bubbles, having squirt gun battles, and swimming.  My house is a wreck and I don’t care.  Summer comes but once a year.  Incidentally, so does winter, but I have yet to figure out how to bottle and store warm weather.  (Unlike the snowball and icicle we’ve been preserving in our freezer since November.  I told the boys we’ll take them outside during one of those unbearably hot July days and see how fast it melts.)

My days of helping with grass cutting have, once again, come to an end.  Voluntarily, this time, after I encountered two snakes while mowing our backyard this week (I only do the back at our “new” house, inside the fence, so nobody can see how terrible I am at it).

That leaves me to my one true talent in life and my favorite summer hobby: reading.  Usually my summer books of choice are the romance-y, lovey dovey, devour-it-in-a-day sort of literature my mom always referred to as “smut”.  It’s her favorite too, and it’s addicting, albeit totally un-educational.  And as a stay-at-home mom for six years running, I’m starting to think maybe my brain muscles could use a bit more exercise.  I’ve finished four new Danielle Steel novels since mid-May, and I’ve moved on to actual educational material now.

Last week I read one parenting book, and began another, while a third still sits on the end table in the living room.  Let’s face it, even on my very best days, my skills as a mom could still use some improvement.  My boys deserve the best I can give them, and I’m not ashamed to admit I’m still a work in progress.

And tonight I searched our county library’s online catalog for some more nonfiction material I’ve been thinking of reading and just keep forgetting about in lieu of mindless quick reads.  Here’s the list:

*Orange is the New Black: My Year in a Women’s Prison, by Piper Kerman     (Yep, only because I love the show.  But I love to see how Hollywood jazzes up true stories.)

*The Girls of the Atomic City: The Untold Story of the Women Who Helped Win World War II by Denise Kiernan     (Not gonna lie; I borrowed this in the spring and didn’t get through it.  I’ve been kicking myself though and am determined to finish this time)

*Scrappy Little Nobody by Anna Kendrick (If you don’t follow her on Twitter, do yourself a favor and do it.  She’s hilarious.  I can’t wait to dig into a full book of her punchy wit.)

*Hidden Figures: The American dream and the untold story of the black women mathematicians who helped win the space race  (I don’t feel so bad not knowing about all these untold stories, seeing as how they’re “untold.”  But I’m particularly interested in this one after Ryan and I visited Kennedy Space Center last summer.)

*Wild: from lost to found on the Pacific Crest Trail (True confession: this one is all because of Lorelai Gilmore.  A Year in the Life, anyone?)

 

So that’s it.  Oh, wait, no.  The Shack is on the end table too, hiding under the third parenting book.  I bought it about seven years ago, and still have not taken the time to read.  Now that there’s a movie, though, it must be read before I can see the Hollywood version.

Leave your recommendations in the comments!  I’d love to hear what’s on your summer reading list!

 

xoxo,

~d

Leave a Reply

